Certified IT Asset Manager (CITAM) Course

Description: The Certified IT Asset Manager (“CITAM”) Course is aligned with the IAITAM Best Practices Library (“IBPL”). Attendees will learn about the entire ITAM Program and take with them the foundation plan for starting or improving their organization’s ITAM Program. The intense five day course with certification is packed full of information and real-world experiences designed to make your ITAM Program more effective, efficient and the CITAM Certification will lend notable credibility to both you and your ITAM Program.

Learning Outcomes

  • What is a Certified IT Asset Manager
  • IITAM Key Process Areas
  • Basic SWOT Analysis
  • Roles and Responsibilities
  • ITAM Project Management
  • Finance Management
  • Acquisition Management
  • Asset Identification Management
  • Vendor Management
  • Compliance & Legislation Management
  • Disposal Management
  • Documentation Management
  • Project Management
  • Communication & Education Management
  • Program Management
  • Policy Management

Who Should Attend?

The CITAM Course, intended to guide individuals within the profession and align the needs of the organization with ITAM best practices for the benefit of the organization. This hands-on course will allow professionals to review existing infrastructure, policies and processes and work from the existing model and plan a real-world IT Asset Management Program for the future – one that is applicable to the global work place and inclusive of a widely dynamic range of issues as well as properly managing IT assets across the enterprise.

Prerequisites: Strong IT Asset Management experience or having CSAM/CHAMP certifications

Course Duration: 3 Days / 21 Hours



  • What is IT Asset Management
  • The 12 IAITAM KPAs
  • What is Program Management?
  • Project Management and ITAM
  • Process Development
  • Policies and ITAM
  • Overview of Other KPAs


  • The 12 IAITAM KPA Dependencies
  • Roles & Responsibilities
  • Overall KPA Projects​


  • Prioritization
  • Measuring the Program’s Success
  • Obtain Executive Backing
  • Assessment Leads to Improvement
  • ITAM Is Not A Core Business Function

Exam Format:

  • Online and Open book exam
  • 3 Hour duration
  • One hundred (100) questions and a passing mark is achieved by attaining 85% or higher
  • One test retake is free of charge for those that fail to achieve pass status on the first attempt; retakes are available after a 24 hour window of the first attempt and must be completed during the 14 day open period.