Certified Hardware Asset Management Specialist(CHAMP) Course

Description: Designed to address the numerous issues plaguing professionals in managing hardware assets, the IAITAM Certified Hardware Asset Management Professional (“CHAMP”) Course follows the lifecycle of IT hardware assets beyond the scope of the cradle to grave analogy and discusses the business practices that can best be used to manage those assets efficiently and cost-effectively. Emphasis is placed on identifying the policies that enhance lifecycle management. In general, policies are only effective if developed by a cross-section of the impacted departments, are reviewed frequently to remain current and are consistently communicated and enforced.

Learning Outcomes:

There are many ways that Hardware Asset Management can benefit an organization. With the volatility of today’s economy and the reduction of IT budgets, finding savings is more important than ever. Organizations that have never heard of IT Asset Management are now educating their staffs and implementing business practices in order to maximize every dollar spent.

Who Should Attend?

The One-day CHAMP Course is designed for those individuals with minimal to no experience in the field of Hardware Asset Management. It is essential learning for beginning IT Asset Managers and other IT professionals involved in Asset Management, resource budgeting, finance, software licensing, contract management and strategic planning. Although there are no prerequisites, some knowledge of contracts and hardware life-cycle management is encouraged.

Prerequisites: None

Duration: 1 Day / 7 Hours



  • What is a Certified Hardware Asset Manager?
  • Best Practices for Asset Standards
  • Tools & Automation
  • Acquisition and Receiving
  • Managing the Inventory
  • Improving the Program
  • Security
  • Reuse and Disposal Processes
Exam Format:
  • Online and Open book exam
  • 3 Hour duration
  • One hundred (100) questions and a passing mark is achieved by attaining 85% or higher
  • One test retake is free of charge for those that fail to achieve pass status on the first attempt; retakes are available after a 24 hour window of the first attempt and must be completed during the 14 day open period.