Certified Software Asset Manager (CSAM) Course

Description: The IAITAM Certified Software Asset Manager (“CSAM”) Course is a foundational education program that ensures students are able to manage software assets. Students also learn about the ever-changing variables throughout our industry. From software piracy and compliance issues to legislation and organizational challenges, it is necessary to evaluate both the internal and external influences that bring about change in how organizations manage their IT assets. A successful Software Asset Manager must look at the overall goals of the organization and determine where Software Asset Management will be a strategic influence in achieving those goals.

Learning Outcomes:

During this course, students learn best practices in Software Asset Management, the “when” and “why” to question whether something should or shouldn’t be done, how to clearly identify goals, and how to quantify success with metrics. Software Asset Management (“SAM”) is the set of business practices that support the use of software within an organization and frequently involves a new view on how and why software traverses throughout the organization. SAM is currently considered a necessary business function by many organizations who view Software Asset Managers as key contributors to achieveing their overall organizational goals and success. Some of these goals include:

To be successful, Software Asset Managers need to learn what the Software Asset Management business best practices are and how to implement and leverage those best practices in a way that is tailored to their organization.

Who Should Attend?

The One-day CSAM Course is designed for those individuals with minimal or entry-level experience in the field of Software Asset Management. It is essential learning for beginning IT Asset Managers and other IT professionals involved in asset management, resource budgeting, finance, software licensing, contract management and strategic planning.

Prerequisites: None

Duration: 1 Day / 7 Hours



  • The Scope of Software
  • Proactive VS. Reactive SAM
  • ITAM Compliance
  • The Art of Negotiation
  • ITAM Automation
  • Hardware and Organizational Impacts
Exam Format:
  • Online and Open book exam
  • 3 Hour duration
  • One hundred (100) questions and a passing mark is achieved by attaining 85% or higher
  • One test retake is free of charge for those that fail to achieve pass status on the first attempt; retakes are available after a 24 hour window of the first attempt and must be completed during the 14 day open period.